2022 Keynote Speakers

Saturday, 30th of July

Keynote Speaker: Matt Whelan, Head of Engineering, Ocado Technology – 10:00 EDT (15:00 BST, 23:00 JST)

Matt will be discussing the engineering challenges behind Ocado’s 600 Series Bot – the world’s lightest and most efficient grocery fulfilment bot. Born at the forefront of additive manufacturing, the team applied additive-first design principles and topology optimisation to make the bot lightweight, more energy efficient and more cost effective. This bot is a critical enabler for a new generation of highly automated warehouses.

Ocado’s 600 Series Bot – the world’s lightest and most efficient grocery fulfilment bot.

Keynote TBA – 14:00 EDT (19:00 BST, 03:00 JST)

Sunday, 31st of July

Keynote TBA – 10:00 EDT (15:00 BST, 23:00 JST)


Keynote: Dr Ruth Aylett of the National Robotarium, Social Agents and Human Robot Interaction – 14:00 EDT (19:00 BST, 03:00 JST)

Professor Ruth Aylett from the National Robotarium is a Professor of Computer Sciences at Heriot-Watt University. She researches Affective Systems, Social Agents in both graphical and robotic embodiments, and Human-Robot Interaction, as well as Interactive Narrative. She led three EU projects (VICTEC, eCIRCUS and eCUTE) in the period 2001-2012 applying empathic graphical characters to education against bullying (FearNot!) and in cultural sensitivity (ORIENT, Traveller, MIXER). She also worked as a PI in the projects LIREC (investigating long-lived robot companions) and EMOTE (an empathic robot tutor).

She led the EPSRC-funded network of excellence in interactive narrative, RIDERS. She has just completed (as PI) the project SoCoRo (Socially Competent Robots) which is investigating the use of a mobile robot to train high-functioning adults with an Autism Spectrum Disorder in social interaction. Her current project as PI, AMPER, investigates the use of a story-telling agent to support reminiscence therapy with elders suffering from dementia. ***
She has authored more than 250 referred publications in conferences, journals and book chapters, and recently co-wrote the popular science book ‘Living with Robots: What Every Anxious Human Needs to Know’ with the National Robotarium’s Professor Patricia Vargas.

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started